New Bright Eyes Track

Four Winds
From Pitchfork

In the runup to his forthcoming Cassadega album, we’re met with a six-track EP, featuring five songs that won’t appear on the album—one of which is this EP closer, “Tourist Trap”.

MP3: Bright Eyes: “Tourist Trap”
[from the Four Winds EP; due 03/06/07 on Saddle Creek]
More on Casadega (from Rolling Stone)

Cassadaga doesn’t come out until April 9th, but a collection of songs recorded by Conor and his bandmates Mike Mogis and Nate Walcott (Oberst has named these long-time collaborators as official members of band, making it a trio rather than a solo act) will be released March 6th as the Four Winds EP. ‚”Four Winds” ‚Äî a confident country romp that is fundamentally cool because of its reference to Joan Didion’s ‚”Slouching Towards Bethlehem” ‚Äî appears on both the EP and the album. The other five tracks on the EP (full track list after the jump) are B-sides and both sonically and lyrically serve as a sort of bridge between last year’s records, and what you’ll hear on Cassadaga. ‚”Reinvent the Wheel,” for example makes great use of the full orchestra Bright Eyes managed to wrangle for this album (they recorded at Capitol Studios in Hollywood,) and ‚”Smoke Without Fire” features M. Ward’s distinctive lulling baritone.