Top 5 shows of the weekend

mercury girls

Don’t forget that L train has forsaken us this weekend (and for the next 5 weekends afterwards). Fret not, for once that crushing realisation subsides you can perk up in the knowledge that any efforts to battle this inconvenience will be rewarded with some fine entertainment.

[Read more…]

This One Goes To Eleven: Weekly metal roundup

AllFoursCover_750This week welcomes the first extreme festival of the season in New York’s Alright, a brass-knuckled blast of Record Store Day releases, and more batshit headlines than the front page of the Daily News, so strap on the gloves, grab your mouth guard, and, as always, get ready to rumble.

[Read more…]

Video: Animal Man “Do You Feed”

Fucked Up put out one of the most ambitious records of the year with David Comes to Life – a concept record telling the story of people who are young and in love. As part of the most recent Record Store Day, the band put out David’s Town, a record consisting of fictional bands from the fictional town where David Comes to Life takes place.

Among the made up punk bands like Porcelain on Porcelain, Hateful Coil, and The Wavy Originals, there was this gem from Animal Man. And now, their song “Do You Feed” comes to life in video form. It’s Fucked Up guitarist Ben “Young Governor” Cook and bassist Sandy “Mustard Gas” Miranda walking around, eating food, dancing. You know, the story of people who are young and in love.

Fucked Up – Do You Feed from Lance Ludwig on Vimeo.

Tomorrow: Record Store Day!

Saturday is the 4th Annual Record Store Day! Give thanks to that fragile black disc and the (dwindling amount of) shops that champion it by getting up extra early and waiting in line to look through stacks of music before leaving without buying anything. I kid, I kid! Seriously, you should buy at least one 7”, you lousy bum.

Stores throughout the city will be hosting bands to complement all the give-aways, promos and special releases from bands like Deerhoof, Kate Bush, Big Star, Caribou, Nirvana, The Decemberists, Bad Brains, Panda Bear, Wavves, OFF!, Built to Spill, Ryan Adams, The Boss, Sonic Youth and Grinderman.

Below are the bold-line performances at your fave area shops. Visit the official Record Store Day site for more participating stores.

Kim’s Video opens @ 9:00a: Folky folks Angel Olsen and Bow Ribbons play the East Vill institution at 5:00p.  

Sound Fix opens @ 10:30a: Sound Fix opens early with undisclosed deals. Dream-pop duo Damon & Naomi play at 7:00p

Other Music opens @ 11:00a: Be one of the first 100 folks to buy Regina Spektor‘s new Four From Far record and get a pass for her intimate show (where she’ll be recording next year’s RSD release) later that day.

Generation Records opens @ 11:00a: Obits, The Jay Vons, I Hate Our Freedom and Spa Castles play and Yo La Tengo (all three!) and WFMU’s Tom Scharpling DJ.

Fat Beats opens @ noon: What I don’t know about hip hop would surprise and disgust you. That being said, even I can sense this is a pretty rad RSD setup: pop-up shop in a warehouse with 9 hours of performances, contests, discounts and food.

Cake Shop @ 5:00p: Not officially an RSD entrant, Cake Shop is still offering goods and a show. Eternal Summers, McDonalds, Natural Child, Widowspeak, Hands & Knees, Overlord, Night Collectors and Twitchers play. Entry is $8

Ty Segall Covers T. Rex

I spent a good amount of time in college drinking whiskey and listening to T. Rex records. (That’s what college was, right?) And it turns out, I wasn’t the only one. This weekend, as part of Record Store Day, Ty Segall will release a 6-song EP entirely of T. Rex Covers. Guess what it’s gonna be called? Ty Rex! Get it! (You get it.) Check out his rendition of the song “Fist Heart Mighty Dawn Dart” below. (via Altered Zones)

This is just one of many impressive releases coming to your local record store on Saturday. Where will you be picking up stacks of vinyl to celebrate? Any other Record Store Day releases you are really stoked on?

Ty Segall: “Fist Heart Mighty Dawn Dart” (T. Rex Cover) by alteredzones

Black Friday's mini-Record Store Day

The day after Thanksgiving is a holiday of retail indulgence. Let’s all go to stores and gorge on goods and gifts for loved ones! This year, Record Store Day comes twice as the masterminds behind it are trying to boost the sales of the still-suffering independent record seller. Check out these exclusive releases that will be available on Black Friday.

— A gatefold 7″ from MGMT featuring “Congratulations” and a remix from Erol Alkan as well as a 20-page storybook

— A 12″ single of Grinderman’s “Heathen Child” featuring a version with Robert Fripp.

— A colored vinyl 12″ version of Cee-Lo’s “Fuck You” also featuring the song’s instrumental.

— A colored vinyl 7″ from the Gaslight Anthem featuring a cover of the Rolling Stones’ “Tumblin’ Dice” and a previously unreleased song.

— Night of the Vampire, a live DVD of Roky Erickson playing in Los Angeles with the Black Angels backing him.

— Sharon Jones and the Dap-Kings’ album I Learned the Hard Way, with the tracks spread across 11 7″ singles, featuring 10 bonus tracks and eight instrumental versions.

— A 7″ single of the new Ting Tings song “Hands” with a Passion Pit remix of the same track.

— A double 7″ single from Dr. Dog featuring four previously unreleased tracks.

— A holiday-themed Drive By Truckers 10″ single.

— A translucent vinyl 7″ from Bob Dylan featuring archival versions of “The Times They Are A-Changin'” and “Like a Rolling Stone”.

— A 7″ single from Soundgarden featuring the previously unreleased song “The Telephantasm” and a live version of “Gun”.

— U2’s Wide Awake in Europe, a three-song 12″ featuring live tracks recorded on their European tour.

— A live CD and double 10″ from Metallica featuring a 2008 live show recorded in the basement under Grimey’s record store in Nashville.

— A 7″ single from Bruce Springsteen featuring “Save My Love” and “Because the Night” from The Promise: The Making of Darkness on the Edge of Town.

via Pitchfork.