More Bernie rallies scheduled; guests include Vampire Weekend, Grizzly Bear, TV on the Radio and more


In the last few days, Sanders held rallies in Coney Island and Greenpoint. Next up, he’ll be rallying in Washington Square Park, Prospect Park and more with lots of special guests:

Wednesday, April 13 is the Washington Square Park rally: Doors open at 5 p.m. and program begins at 7 p.m; the event is free, but Bernie wants you to RSVP here. Special guests announced are Vampire Weekend, Spike Lee, Rosario Dawson, Shailene Woodley, Linda Sarsour, Tim Robbins and Graham Nash. [Read more…]

Members of Beach House, Fleet Foxes, Walkmen & Grizzly Bear to perform forgotten solo album by the Byrds’ Gene Clark


From The Guardian:

Members of Fleet Foxes, Beach House, Grizzly Bear and Fairport Convention have announced a tour in celebration of a little-known solo album by the Byrds’ Gene Clark.

The project was spearheaded by Beach House’s Victoria Legrand and Alex Scally, who described themselves as “infatuated” with Clark’s 1974 LP No Other. They have plumbed the Baltimore music scene for a ten-person band and chorus, corralling members of Lower Dens, Wye Oak and Celebration, as well as four guest vocalists: Fleet Foxes’ Robin Pecknold, Grizzly Bear’s Daniel Rossen, Hamilton Leithauser from the possibly defunct Walkmen, and Englishman Iain Matthews, best known for his work in Fairport Convention and Plainsong.

So far, the makeshift group has announced just four concerts: Philadelphia, Baltimore, Washington and New York, all at the end of January. At each gig, the musicians will cover No Other “from start to finish”, as well as showing a new edit of the Gene Clark documentary The Byrd Who Flew Alone.

Pre-sale tickets go on sale today at noon for a performance at Music Hall of Williamsburg on Sat, Jan 25.

New Grizzly Bear Video – ‘gun-shy’

Seasons Greetings From Grizzly Bear

Grizzly Bear: “Yet Again”

Listen to the new Grizzly Bear: ‘Shields’

You can listen to it all here.

For a band with a firm grasp on pristine, precise production and immaculate vocal harmonies, Grizzly Bear can be inscrutable at times: Its members have been known to use their formidable studio chops in the pursuit of what can sound like puzzles waiting to be solved.

Take “Sleeping Ute,” the lead track from Grizzly Bear’s fourth album, the follow-up to its 2009 breakthrough Veckatimest. With its lush flourishes and strange psychedelic side roads, the song lurches in about six directions at once, testing listeners who like their songs to travel in straight lines. Shields (out Sept. 18) can be hard to latch onto in spots, but it rewards the effort — with both strange sonic surprises and a few hooky, expansive ringers.

With vocals that recall the choirboy-in-a-cavern anthemics of My Morning Jacket, “Half Gate” and especially “Yet Again” find a catchy, agreeable compromise between experimentation and soaring grace. In other spots, Shields gets spare and quiet — particularly in “The Hunt” and “What’s Wrong,” both of which drift into airy, barely there minimalism. By the time it winds down, the album has found an effective way to fuse its gentle and majestically booming sides in the seven-minute knockout “Sun in Your Eyes.”

Sometimes delicate and eccentric, at others grandiose — and always many steps beyond the Brooklyn band’s beginnings as a home-recording project for singer Ed Droste — Shields rarely sounds like a bid for greater commercial success. But it does showcase the considerable gifts of four guys willing to hover patiently through the detours, without sacrificing the beauty that makes the journey worthwhile.

New Grizzly Bear “Sleeping Ute”

The first song from the still-untitled follow up to Veckatimist, out September 18 on Warp, was just posted. It is titled “Sleeping Ute,” and it will blow you away. The twangy guitars at the beginning give way to a dense and moody soundscape. It’s a good, cloudy day to stay inside and listen to this jam as the rain starts to fall outside.

Check out the tracklist for the record below.

01 Sleeping Ute
02 Speak in Rounds
03 Adelma
04 Yet Again
05 The Hunt
06 A Simple Answer
07 What’s Wrong
08 gun-shy
09 Half Gate
10 Sun in Your Eyes

Daniel Rossen (of Grizzly Bear) Performs a song from his new Silent Hour / Golden Mile EP