Obama's Base: Jane Fonda, Commies, And Scary Black People

Archie Bunker, Joe McCarthy, and the ghost of Strom Thurmond have apparently teamed up to pen a *completely idiotic* editorial about Obama’s supporters for the National Review. Wake up and smell the decade. [Hat tip Jezebel]

For a Boomer like me, following the threads of the Obama movement is like a flashback from a bad 60s drug trip — an old, unwelcome nightmare. Whether it’s Billy Ayers or Bernadine Dohrn, Tom Hayden or Jane Fonda, or any of the other lesser-knowns, 60s Marxist radicals are lining up behind Obama.
Obama’s young worshippers think they see something altogether new, a unique persona, seemingly magically transported to this moment in history to help them finally be the ones to net the elusive butterfly of socialism’s never-realized promise…. Sixties’ radicals see their as yet unfulfilled yearning for socialist utopia in a well-groomed, glittery, establishment-approved package… Obama is clean-cut. He talks unity, not subversion. He promises equal outcomes without resorting to violence to get them. He endorses marriage and fidelity for himself, without condeming other lifestyle choices. He speaks in highbrow English, rather than the 60s revolutionary slogans…
Obama’s followers make high-tech videos, mindlessly chanting, ‚”Yes, we can” instead of making bombs to blow up government buildings, or holding up armored trucks and killing police officers.
This new generation seems to have the opportunity to do now with mere votes what their predecessors tried and failed to do through violence. We can finally seal the deal on the real revolution — democratically. Obama, the Closer, is at hand.
Evidenced by his list of supporters, from Ayers Dohrn, Hayden and Fonda, to the New Black Panthers, the New SDS, the New Winter Soldiers, et al., the radical Left has anointed Obama as the One. Every aging, anti-war, anti-capitalist group and their new offshoots are flocking around Obama like moths to a flame…
To these rabid Marxist radicals, Obama is the One, because he’s probably their last chance to see socialism triumph on our own soil.

It’s appropriate that the article is actually penned by someone named “Shiver.”

Hillary Practicing Her Hand Gestures

More from Rosemary Watson here. [Thanks Jeff]

One Word: Ghoulish

Michael Goodwin of the Daily News sums up Hillary’s ghoulish gaffe nicely:

SICK. Disgusting. And yet revealing. Hillary Clinton is staying in the race in the event some nut kills Barack Obama. It could happen, but what definitely has happened is that Clinton has killed her own chances of being vice president. She doesn’t deserve to be elected dog catcher anywhere now. … We have seen an X-ray of a very dark soul. One consumed by raw ambition to where the possible assassination of an opponent is something to ponder in a strategic way. Otherwise, why is murder on her mind?

Go away Hillary. Go away.

Thank God Memorial Day Is Here

[Thanks Nick]

McCain's Other Spiritual Guide

Do we really want a potential president taking counsel from a lunatic like this? This kind of rhetoric further compromises the so-called “war on terror” and further alienates us from the very people with whom we should be trying to make peace.

Zach Galifianakis Hidden Camera at OSU

We should just change the name of our site to FREE Galifianakis since we will post pretty much anything he’s involved in. Even his half-baked projects are hilarious:

Too Slack, Cynical, And Disaffected To Fight

Gawker day editor Alex Pareene has an hilarious rebuttal to my article posted on Radar. Here’s my favorite line:

Years later, none of us are entirely sure why anyone claimed to enjoy the sounds Eddie Vedder makes. Perry Ferrell. Christ, what were drugs even made of in the 1990s?

In my defense, I always fucking hated Pearl Jam and Jane’s Addiction and I wasn’t too keen on the criminally overrated Nirvana for that matter. (If you want to embarrass us bring up Trent Reznor).
Anyway, my article’s primary intent was to frame boomers for hypocrisy and favoritism. Sure, I take lots of shots at Millennials along the way, but come on, a little friction is par for the course in an article about generational angst. Historically speaking, the boomers were criticized. Gen X was criticized. The Millennials are now getting their turn. It’s a rite of passage. Radar came up with the title “Generation Slap: A Call to Arms Against Millennials.” It was a smart move on their part since it attracted lots of attention. But if you go back and read it, you’ll see that most of my venom is reserved for boomers and with a media that credits Millennials with our achievements. And come on, who doesn’t think Of Montreal is retarded for doing this. Now get off my lawn…. I’m trying to read an antiquated little thing known as a book.

Is That A Flying Penis Or Are You Just Happy To See Mr. Kasparov?

A press conference by Gary Kasparov is interrupted by a flying penis.