Animal Collective – “Today’s Supernatural”

Here’s the first single from Centipede Hz. Panda Bear debuted it (along with two of his new instrumental solo jams) on Animal Collective Radio last night. “Today’s Supernatural” is weird (in that way that Animal Collective are), upbeat, and has some of that classic Avey Tare scream/singing. Perfect to whet our appetite for Centipede Hz‘s release.

Tickets are still available for Animal Collective’s show at Williamsburg Park this fall.

Listen: New Dirty Projectors song “Dance For You”

The release of Swing Lo Magellan, Dirty Projectors followup to the smash Bitte Orca. And now Dirty Projectors are giving us a new track, “Dance For You.” It’s light, upbeat and feels so effortless, while still maintains the classic something-sorta-off that Dirty Projectors have built their catalog on.

New Grizzly Bear “Sleeping Ute”

The first song from the still-untitled follow up to Veckatimist, out September 18 on Warp, was just posted. It is titled “Sleeping Ute,” and it will blow you away. The twangy guitars at the beginning give way to a dense and moody soundscape. It’s a good, cloudy day to stay inside and listen to this jam as the rain starts to fall outside.

Check out the tracklist for the record below.

01 Sleeping Ute
02 Speak in Rounds
03 Adelma
04 Yet Again
05 The Hunt
06 A Simple Answer
07 What’s Wrong
08 gun-shy
09 Half Gate
10 Sun in Your Eyes

Marty Markowitz rapping “Liquid Swords”

At the announcement for this year’s Northside Festival, Brooklyn Borough President Marty Markowitz decided it was important to rap the first lines from GZA’s “Liquid Swords.” Pretty cool, Marty.

The Northside festival is June 14-21 and will feature GZA as well as Of Montreal, Starfucker, and a million other bands.

New Titus Andronicus mixtape

Dive head first into this week! Local punks (and Twitter allstars) Titus Andronicus posted a new mixtape in the wee hours of last night. It’s called Titus Andronicus LLC Mixtape Vol. 1, which opens up the great possibility for a sequel (or sequels!) in the future. The mix is compilation of live tunes, covers and outtakes from the band’s last album The Monitor. But the crown jewel is definitely the new single “Upon Viewing Oregon’s Landscape with the Flood of Detritus,” which was recently premiered on The Best Show on WFMU. It’s a typically anthemic and driving track, featuring Alex Levine of the So So Glos, and also featuring a great “Oi! Oi! Oi!” chant at the final coda.

Download the mixtape and read the track-by-track description at Titus Andronicus’s Tumblr.

s / s / s “Museum Day”

s / s / s is Sufjan Stevens, Son Lux and Serengeti. “Museum Day” is the first track from their upcoming EP titled Beak & Claw. The track is a six minute auto-tuned, synthed-out jam with Serengeti rhyming over top. The track is described as the “most adventurous” of the four tunes appearing on Beak & Claw. Not sure what that means for the rest of the EP, which comes out March 20 via Anticon.

Beak & Claw tracklist:

01. Museum Day
02. Beyond Any Doubt
03. If This Is Real
04. Octomom

Stream “Museum Day” below.

“Sexy and I Know It” Fallon style

Jimmy Fallon as Neil Young. Bruce Springsteen as a younger Bruce Springsteen. This rendition of LMFAO’s “Sexy and I Know It” appeared on last nights final night of Fallon’s Springsteen Week as well as the three year birthday of his show being on NBC. There was also a lengthy interview with The Boss on the episode. It’s all very special. And even if you don’t laugh out loud or enjoy the parody world of songs being sung in other genres, you can still appreciate this for how incredibly endearing it is.

Fort Lean played Santos Party House

Last night the rocking boys of Fort Lean played their first headlining show. It was at Santos Party House. It was SOLD OUT. And it was supposed to be the celebration of the “Sunsick” single, their first physical release (because of an error, the 7″s were not available, but the single is still downloadable and still absolutely amazing).

There is something impressive about frontman Keenan Mitchell, who walks on stage already shirtless. Wild yellow hair flying all over the place. Entering right into “High Definition,” from last year’s EP (also available for free download!) They plowed through a high-energy set of songs from the EP, a few new songs and the song of the night “Sunsick,” along with the B-side “The Precinct.”

This band has the ability to perform these songs in a way that is both spot on compared to the recorded versions, and also infusing them with so much personality and captivating the crowd. On “Beach Holiday” for example, every single drum fill was perfectly recreated, Keenan swung his hair and body around wildly. Perfect.

Listen to the new, perfectly coupled one-two punch, “Sunsick” and “The Precinct” below. And be on the lookout for when the 7″ is released.